Why We Should Still Buy CDs

It is very rare that I would think to buy a friend their favourite band’s new CD, I would rather give them an iTunes voucher, wouldn’t you? Despite having a music library of nearly 4000 songs, I own very few CDs, and the ones I do own consist of Miley Cyrus, Avril Lavigne and Kelly Clarkson. (Please excuse my clearly exquisite music taste at age 12). This is the case with most of my friends as well, as far as I know. I’m only sixteen and it doesn’t feel that long ago that I spent pocket money browsing hmv, and treasured my handheld CD player.

We all own an MP3, or an iPod, and everyone downloads music straight to their device without a second thought. Even iTunes is being out done by the likes of Spotify and Napster, offering free subscriptions and unlimited music. Don’t get me wrong, these services are great, so useful, and make music extremely accessible. But, sometimes I think it would be nice if we all still bought CDs, even if not to listen to on an old stereo. My dad for instance, will often buy CDs from amazon if the band is significant or he wants the collection. For example, he bought ‘Ghost Stories’, Coldplay’s newest LP and although it isn’t one of his favourite albums and he doesn’t listen to it all the time, we have every other Coldplay CD and I think it is almost like a memento of the band.

Most people, including myself, don’t buy CDs anymore of course, because technology has moved on, and we don’t feel the need to buy them. I personally feel it is a great shame, and CDs are cheap, easy to acquire and often beautiful reminders of a time, place or person, or if you’re like me, your (slightly embarrassing) tween years. Having discovered that my parents actually do have quite good music taste, I scoured their vast CD collection for my GCSE revision accompanying music. While doing this, I realised that the sleeves of the albums, and the accompanying lyric booklets were quite interesting and an insight into the aesthetic of the band. Here are a couple of my favourites:

I hope you agree that we should buy CDs, and that you also enjoy the look and feel of a brand new album in your hands, only a few days after it’s release.

Leave a Reply

